What’s In a Name?

Welcome to my new blog. Way back in the MySpace days I used to enjoy the ability to post long-form stories, critiques and other thoughts and that desire has recently returned.

Over the last few years I have experienced quite a few “watershed” moments and often found myself wanting to write about them. Today I finally took the first step and set up this new place to share my thoughts.

Another reason this blog exists has to do with a major life change that starts today. I’m not yet sure how much more than that I wish to share at this point. I may wind up spilling the beans in the very next post or I might decide to never elaborate beyond that cryptic sentence. I have no idea, to be quite frank, what to expect from this blog.

One thing I do know for sure: the origins of the blog’s name. One of my favorite movies of all-time is the original “Arthur” with Dudley Moore. Perpetually drunk, Arthur Bach hilariously stumbles his way through life, including one encounter with a hunting trophy that catches his eye and refuses to leave his mind. At one point he asks, quite seriously, “Where’s the rest of this moose?”

Collectively, the thoughts contained in this blog are “the rest of the moose.” If you’re reading this, you likely know me personally or at least socially, which is to say you know the “head” of the “moose” but perhaps not much more. The 1’s and 0’s that will digitally form this tome are the other part, often hidden from view but required to make the moose whole. Much like an animal that has been shot and chopped into smaller parts, this may not always be clean or pleasant.

If you object, I suggest complaining to Arthur Bach. He’s the one who asked for this.

Leave a Reply

